Robins nest in shed

Hi I'm new to this so not sure if this is where I'm meant to post . I have just been in my shed and discovered a nest with six eggs ... I have 2 Robins in my garden amongst other birds and suspect it to be the Robins . Does the fact the eggs are alone mean the nest has been abandoned ? I feel quite upset to think I may have caused this by disturbing them but had no idea there was a nest in there.
  • Hi Fiona, Robins usually only have 5 eggs, but they can lay 6 on occasion. The female remains with the eggs, but can leave them for up to 20 minutes maybe once or twice a day, so you might not have disturbed them. Do the eggs look like those in the photo? These are Robin eggs. The nest should be a hair and moss lined cup shape. Just leave them and maybe the birds will return.

Unicum arbustum haud alit duos erithacos

(One bush does not shelter two Robins)

Zenodotus (3rd Century B.C.)

• Thankyou ... I saw both Robins at the feeder a short while after and they did head off in the direction of the shed . They are used to us in the Garden and often land quite close and sit watching us on the fence ... 6 eggs were there so the clutch is complete ... Fingers crossed all is still good in the hood ... Will keep you updated ... Thanks for giving me hope :-)

• Yes that's what they looked like and there were  six :-)

• That's great news. Incubating should be about 14 days and then another 13 days before they fledge. The fledglings are flightless for up to 36 hours. Keep digging over the soil and the adults will have plenty of worms to feed to their young.

• Thankyou so much for your warm welcome ... I do intend to stick around  as I love wild life and value your expert opinions :-)

• I have two weeks off work and was intending to do a bit in the garden but as everything I need is in the shed I'm thinking sod it ... Open a bottle of wine and do a bit of digging instead :-) x