Nature on Your Doorstep Community

A place to learn, share and inspire others to create a haven for you and for wildlife.

Sign In or Register to join the conversation

Pond water circulation

Hello everyone,

We cleared out our garden pond at the end of October 09, re-lined it, refilled & planted all in the same day.  The fish thought their birthdays had all come at once!  It is now trying to rebalance itself after the early spring growth & we have barley straw starting to do its work.  However we feel that some form of water circulation would improve things for all concerned & have been wondering about a floating solar fountain.  Our pond is 8' x 8', circular, & approx. 3' or so deep in the centre.  Has anyone got any experience of these, or any alternative options?  We would be grateful for any information on the subject.

Zebedee

Retired & loving it, a scot living in the south of England.

• Hello, sorry this is a bit late. I hesitated to reply because I have no experience of the floating solar fountains and was waiting for someone who did.

We dug a wildlife pond several years ago but we included a waterfall to help water circulation and because the noise and effect is so appealing. It was fine for years but then I found a frog with its leg trapped in the pump. Unfortunately, it did not survive. We demolished the waterfall as I didn't want to risk it happening again.

The pond has not been affected and we still have newts and frogs every year. I feel sure your pond will be OK without a fountain. However, I have also been thinking of buying a solar fountain. Mainly for the aesthetic value but also to see if it  improves water quality.

I hope someone who has used a solar fountain reads this post. If I buy one beforehand, I will let you know what effect it has, if any.

Sorry I cannot be more helpful.

Kind regards Jane.

• Hi