Magenta 4 Bat Detector - can it be connected to a dictaphone?

Hi all,

I have bought myself a Magenta 4 bat detector as I know we have loads of bats living in our roof and I'm interested to find out what type they are. I think there might be at least two different species, judging by the way they fly. 

Anyway, as a beginner, I'm struggling to match up the sounds from the detector with the correct species and would like to be able to record the sounds so I can listen back to them.  The detector does have a 'constant level recorder output' socket as well as a headphone jack so does this mean that I can connect a digital voice recorder, like the one in this link, to it to record the sounds?  I'm not very techy so any help appreciated. 

www.currys.co.uk/.../sony-icdbx140-digital-voice-recorder-silver-10029720-pdt.html

Thanks in advance, 

TM

• Did you think to ask the question on Curry's live chat facility?

2013 photos & vids here

eff37 on Flickr

• In reply to WendyBartter:

No, but I spoke to a friend's partner who works there and he said that as they don't sell the detector and he had no knowledge of it, he didn't know but that it probably would work based on what I had told him and he would look into it properly for me.

I just thought that, in the meantime, I'd see whether anybody on here had had success with doing this as the Magenta 4 is a very basic detector and I don't want to waste my time and money on a dictaphone if it's not going to work all that well.
  • Did you go to this site?
    www.birdforum.net/.../

If you do manage to make it work then please do let us know as everything to do with Bat detecting & recording seems incredibly expensive!

2013 photos & vids here

eff37 on Flickr

• UPDATE