House Martins and pre-fledgling deaths

Hello All

I am new to RSPB.  Hope I have made this post to the right section.  I bought my house 8 years ago primarily because of the House Martin nests under eaves of roof.  I have watched with wonder the repair of nests and feeding of chicks over the years.  The reason why I am posting a topic for discussion to members is to hear from other people who have had the same experience as me this year and perhaps to learn why this is happening . 

I have found 7 pre-fledgling dead chicks on the south side of my house during 2nd and 3rd week of July.  This is the first time it has happened.  I have 4 nests under the roof on the south side and 3 nests on north side.  No deaths have occurred on the north side.  The parents have been very active in flying to and from the nests early evening on both sides of the house.  The nests are sound.  No sign of them breaking.  No cats can get to them either.

Have other people had similar experience of House Martin chick deaths this year?  Any professional account for this happening specifically to House Martins would be welcomed.  I am sure there will questions asked to draw a conclusion.  Here is a few more points to contemplate.  I have not found any other dead baby birds from other species. Nor have I carried out any external painting.  The area in which I live is adjacent to a nature reserve.  No change to locality, such as noise or pollutant emission.  I have allowed nature to take it's own course in my front garden with self seeding of prolific flowering plants for insects.

Look forward to reading your replies.

Jo Rickman

• I think that it would be impossible for anyone to do any more than guess at an explanation, even with more information - but it does sound curious.