Today's walk without my knowledgeable chum

On holiday on Kintyre without my friend who I usually rely on to identify things for me as I'm still learning.

Can I ask you good people, am I right with Gadwall, Common Sandpiper and (maybe ) a Rock Pippit? All seen on the shoreline on Kintyre. 

Thanking you in advance.

• That first one actually looks like a female eider to me, it's the head shape. You're in the right place in the country for them I think.
  • In reply to pszmrh:

Ah! There were four females together with four chicks - no male in sight. The beak does look more "Eider" but they were a bit smaller than I expected. They were diving to eat - including the chicks if this helps identify them.
  • Hi-

female Eider

S

For advice about Birding, Identification,field guides,  binoculars, scopes, tripods,  etc - put 'Birding Tips'   into the search box

• In reply to Sallyb:

The behaviour would fit as they do form creches apparently:
    www.wildlifetrusts.org/.../eider

And the female one in the main picture does look like your photo in my opinion
  • I forgot about the other ones :) You're right it's a common sandpiper and I would ID that as a rock pipit. It's got the red-ish legs, smudgy streaks, overall greyish colour, black bill and white eyering with the sort of weak white eyebrow. All points to rock pipit.
  • In reply to pszmrh:

Brilliant - thank you. We were walking along the beach and the sandpipers had nested in the rocks on the beach (which I didn't;t know they did). They were most upset with us until we quickly moved on when we saw a chick and realised!
    Never sure about pippits! Do you think this was a fledgling as it looks a bit tatty. It had got a bug in its beak but I'm not sure it knew what to do. It was on the fence chirruping for ages.