Beautiful Butterflies 2019

3 days of sunshine & Butterflies galore. Well, not really but we did see 3 Brimstones a Red Admiral & a Peacock. I did get a shot of the Brimstone flying, but I think trying to photograph Butterflies in flight is one of the first signs of madness. Anyway, it's high time I started this thread.

This is the link to last years thread https://community.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/f/all-creatures/196195/beautiful-butterflies-2018/1219455#1219455

Best wishes

Hazel in Southwest France

• Thanks, Tony - my hubby spotted it (we didn't know what it was, except that it looked rather small) and I already had my camera on auto settings, so was lucky as it flew away shortly afterwards. We looked it up when we got home. I'm not very good at butterflies...
    Karen B Suffolk
  • thanks very much, Hazel... I love sharing my enthusiasm for wildlife on this forum (despite the technical challenges) ;-)
    Karen B Suffolk
  • Female Orange Tip.

I've no idea what type the plant is.

My bird photos HERE

• Not sure on the flower either Paul, but a lovely photo.

Best wishes

Hazel in Southwest France

• Very nice, Paul. The underwing of the female is really nicely marked.

I got my first Holly Blue of the year. I've been seeing them for quite a while but wouldn't settle.

Tony

My Flickr Photostream 

• lovely photo and species Paul and Tony (we had a holly blue in the garden yesterday but it never paused for a photo and disappeared over the garage roof, same with Orange Tip  !  )

I saw plenty of Orange Tip along with Speckled Wood, Small White, Peacock and Comma butterflies today at Leighton Moss as it was a beautiful sunny day which brought out the flutterbys and the dragonflies,    

Couldn't get an OT to settle so had to be content with Small White (I think ! )   male Green-veined White (thanks to Tony)   and a Comma ......

Regards, Hazel