How to best see the Peregrines

Morning,

I was wondering if anyone had any tips on seeing the elusive peregrines at Rainham?

I constantly see the blog/recent sightings full of peregrines, especially around christmas where you had six apparently? Turned up the next day and didnt see one!

Im really not an expert, or even close, so I probably just miss them. I know they tend to favour the pylons and I know the basics facts such as how they hunt and what not but any specific tips for seeing them at Rainham?

On Flickr: ApexPhotographs

• Hi, I have seen the Peregrines hunting quite low Over the marsh (Aveley pools) the last few times I have been there.

Watch out for a sudden flocks of Lapwing and other species taking off together, this can be hit and miss as the Lapwing are quite skittish at the best of times.

Really it's a matter of patience but early morning and late afternoon are good times to see them hunting and always check the pylons.

Good luck

Craig

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. - Albert Einstein

• Thanks! I always check the pylons anyway, never seen a peregrine there but my Dad did spot a kestrel on one of them which we watched for a few minutes.

Is there an online map that shows area like the Aveley Pools and what not? I know *roughly* where various places are and I can have an educated guess but it's nice to be sure!

• No probs. If you head through the woodland area and continue up to the Northern trail which takes you past the Ken Barrett hide the platforms there are a good place to spot them from here you can then move on to the Pylons.

I have also seen them hunting over Wennington scrape at the back of the reserve which you can observe from the Shooting Butts hide.

Cheers

Craig

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. - Albert Einstein