Bird Calls

Quick Question which i hope someone can answer, I am relatively new to going out and looking for wildlife and while recognising them is easy(ish) recognising calls i am really struggling with. I can only really recognise  all the British Species of Owl as they are what first got me going out and looking for wildlife and being really interested in it. 

What would people suggest for starting to recognise the calls? Been listening in the garden with fairly limited success as i still keep getting them wrong, is it just a case of keep at it and eventually i will?

• If you haven't got one already get a CD/DVD or download an app.  The best is the Collins Bird Guide app, but that is only for Apple.  Then you can listen to the calls of likely birds over and over and basically learn them.

There are also plenty of websites with bird sounds on - this BBC one is a good start for common birds:

www.bbc.co.uk/.../birdsong.shtml

• Even better idea!

The fabulous 'Tweet of the Day' series on BBC iPlayer - you'll learn all sorts of facts about birds as well as the sounds:

www.bbc.co.uk/.../b01s6xyk

• For Android phones the RSPB British birds e guide has most calls/ songs and there is a freebie called UK birds sounds. Learning myself and have found both of these invaluable.

• Thanks guys, I think that will be enough for me to be getting on with!

• Hi James

All the above is sound advice although I wou go further and say the following may help.

1. Start simple. Your focus on garden birds is good. Learn a couple and learn them well. Robin for example, then blackbird etc. once you have these then you can discount them when you hear something different. It all builds from there.

2. Apps with calls are great but I find them better at confirming what you suspect rather than learning from scratch. Still helpful though and worth getting but you may find this option becomes more useful in time.