Nature on Your Doorstep Community

A place to learn, share and inspire others to create a haven for you and for wildlife.

Sign In or Register to join the conversation

Trees for my garden

Hi

Thinking about putting a couple of small trees in the gatden maimly for the birds. The ones I have in mind ar Sorbus Joshep Rock and a crab Apple if I can find a good upright variety. What do think am I on the right track?  Any advice appreciated

• Hi Andre,

I'm no arborist but I can tell you I had a few bird-friendly trees planted and by far my most successful was my Mountain ash (Rowan) tree - the berries on them were gobbled up and stripped bare, mainly by Blackbirds. Also I planted a silver birch and Hawthorn which are also supposed to be good. I know Crab Apple also attract birds.

• Hi Andre - I'm not an expert gardener but you could try cotoneaster, they come in tree form and shrub. We planted one a yr ago - they produce berries and don't grow too big (approx 10 x 10ft).I,ve thought about apple trees but you have to be careful as some grow very big. This  summer I'm going to get a few dwarf patio fruit trees - you can get plum, apple, pear etc which can be kept in large pots and grow to a few feet. Hope this was of some help.

Jayne

See my Flickr photos here.

• The blackbirds love the amelanchier berries too - they don't last long.

• Sorbus Joshep Rock has yellow berries I think you might find the birds will leave these till last as they seem to eat red berries first. There are many Crab Apples that are grafted onto dwarf rooting stock so shop around your local garden centre or if you are lucky a nursery with a good selection for you.

http://www.mailordertrees.co.uk/Malus_'Admiration'_(Crab_Apple_Tree).htm

A very old Shropshire Lad.