Advice

Hi,

im new to bird watching , and i'm wanting to make my garden bird friendly, i've inserted a picture as it is now.

I get a lot of cats in the garden and need to find an animal friendly deterrent.

Thank you.

• The RSPB sells a cat deterrent gadget that might do the trick for you - not used such a thing personally, but seems to get some positive results. Otherwise, careful layout of the garden and feeders can help - are the cats actually catching birds?  If so, what ones?  It may be that the feeders are fine but ground feeding birds are getting taken (for example), in which case some protection for them is what you're after.

However, it's also possible that cats aren't taking any of the birds at all and you have nothing to worry about.  We have two cats and they do hang around near the feeders sometimes - but they're after the mice you inevitably have when you're feeding the birds.  So you may find your feline visitors are actually helping keep down your garden rodents :-)

• Hi Joe

Thank you for your reply.

No I not seen the cats catch any I used to see them sat underneath the feeders, then I read that if you put sticks into the ground where cats sits to stop them that has worked a little then I spotted a cat in the tree.

I'm not knowledgeable  on different birds  species I know I get  robins , Blackbirds collared doves ,and the odd time Magpie.I don't have a good camera and i've been trying to take pictures because Id like to know which i'm getting,I do believe I get  quite a few different ones in.