Advice

Hi,

im new to bird watching , and i'm wanting to make my garden bird friendly, i've inserted a picture as it is now.

I get a lot of cats in the garden and need to find an animal friendly deterrent.

Thank you.

• The RSPB sells a cat deterrent gadget that might do the trick for you - not used such a thing personally, but seems to get some positive results. Otherwise, careful layout of the garden and feeders can help - are the cats actually catching birds?  If so, what ones?  It may be that the feeders are fine but ground feeding birds are getting taken (for example), in which case some protection for them is what you're after.

However, it's also possible that cats aren't taking any of the birds at all and you have nothing to worry about.  We have two cats and they do hang around near the feeders sometimes - but they're after the mice you inevitably have when you're feeding the birds.  So you may find your feline visitors are actually helping keep down your garden rodents :-)

___

Find me on Flickr / All about your camera - The Getting off Auto Index

• Hi,

Hard to tell from the photo, but the garden looks open plan and has trees and other cover for birds. I personally would move the feeders further away from the hedge. Birds will be more wary further out, but less likely to be ambushed by cats. The more exposed though, the more easy for sparrowhawks (which you may be happy to have visiting anyway. I am (so long as they don't catch nesting house martins!)).