Suet Pellets

I am fairly new to feeding the birds in my garden and I was wondering why peanuts have to be fed via a bird feeder but, suet Pellets (Similar size) can be fed on a bird table? I am frightened that my smaller birds (robins, blue tits, coal tits) will choke on them so, I don't want to put them out. However, I know suet Pellets are great for birds in winter! Can someone please help me??

• Hello MF, during the nesting period peanuts must be put into mesh peanut feeders, this is to avoid whole peanuts being given to the young birds to avoid them choking. They could be crushed very small and scattered. Outwith that they can be thrown hole. If you have bigger birds like the crows, magpies and others gobble these no bother but the smaller birds will take them too. The tits like to feed from a feeder and you will see them take a nut and go back to the bushes or branches on trees and eat them. I have pheasants and they love peanuts, hoovering them up first before then taking their corn! Suet pieces are very safe to scatter or put into a feeder, the Robin and blackbirds love them. My robins love the suet pieces and come into the garage and sit to be fed even helping themselves from the little dish, if we are not ready to feed them! Probably the shape of the suet pieces are easier to go down opposed to a rounded peanut, that could choke young birds. Hope this helps.

• Thank you for the reply Catlady. That has been super helpful!! I will be going out to buy some suet Pellets now :) That is amazing that your little robins visit you in the garage! They must be amazing to see up close!