Sheffield Peregrine cam 2013

The University of Sheffield have just put up a webcam to view the Peregrines that raised young last year, no one at home as i type.

http://efm.dept.shef.ac.uk/peregrine/index.html

edit, when enlarge to full screen it's still cracking quality

• It still amazes me how fast these birds grow & mature - like some sort of time lapse images!

• Do we have a fledging date for these D?

• Popped up to St Georges at 7.30 this morning on my way to work - saw all three youngsters standing on the ledge of the nestbox flexing their wings. Fledging is imminent!

The University are apparently saying Thursday based on the timings of last year's brood but to me they look ready to go at any time (before anyone shoots off up there please have a look for yourself first as I'm no expert by any means!)

Was also rewarded by the presence of BOTH parents and even saw Dad chase (unsuccessfully) a pigeon.

Will post pics hopefully this evening

Ian

• Yes it looks like they've fledged Alan. On reflection I think it might have been starting to happen when I was there this morning. Both parents were around and they made repeated fleeting visits to the nest. They weren't bringing food so maybe they were trying to encourage the kids to go for it!

Ian

• Just looking now there's one at the nest and it looks like at least one on top of the box. Maybe they haven't quite fledged after all and are just playing hide and seek with us!

Anyway here are some pictures from this morning, which unfortunately was very overcast

Mum (I think!) looks in "Wakey wakey, rise and shine"

Juniors 1 and 2 respond

Job done, mum departs...

...flies a circuit and perches a few yards from the nest

"Let's have a look around now she's gone"

Meanwhile Dad is also perched nearby, right at the very top of the tower where he can see not only his family but also the whole of Sheffield!

and finally after his siblings have returned to the nest, Junior 3 shows himself