It's all in the Name . . .

Now,  as you might have gathered, I’m pretty new to this birding malarkey.  I’ve just been watching the BTO video clips  on how to differentiate between chaff warblers and willow chiffs – still some teething troubles there I think. 

But what is really getting my nether-garments in a wad is some of the unfathomable local names for birds.  Last year, while in the Shetlands, we learned the lovely moniker for the  Great Skua from a fellow, visiting birder.  We wondered why he was running along the cliff-path with his binoculars held over his head and shouting ‘Bonxie !! . . .’  We also learned that the name is often accompanied by the phrases ‘look out!!’ and ‘attack’.

I was totally flummoxed today, however, to see on the Portland Obs sightings that they were seeing “Gropper TFs”. 

One of you must me able to tell me, under what name this exotic birdie  will appear in my little RSPB guide book.

And while you all cogitate on this, are there any other local names I should learn?  After all, I don’t want to turn up at the new centre and be the ONLY one who doesn’t know what everyone’s  looking at when somebody shouts out ‘there’s a droopy-winged-marsh-shuffler.’

• Great stuff Possum - a can of worms indeed!

I think that many of the abbreviations stem from BTO ringers code and have entered into the common parlance. Certainly Lottie (long-tailed tit) and reebu (reed bunting) are examples of this that i picked up from Nick T and I am now guilty of using liberally. I do though see them as terms of endearment. I am sure that most birders use abbs. in this fashion rather than to alienate the uninitiated and, likewise, I am sure we all succumb from time to time -  tufty as a tufted duck being a prime example.