It's all in the Name . . .

Now,  as you might have gathered, I’m pretty new to this birding malarkey.  I’ve just been watching the BTO video clips  on how to differentiate between chaff warblers and willow chiffs – still some teething troubles there I think. 

But what is really getting my nether-garments in a wad is some of the unfathomable local names for birds.  Last year, while in the Shetlands, we learned the lovely moniker for the  Great Skua from a fellow, visiting birder.  We wondered why he was running along the cliff-path with his binoculars held over his head and shouting ‘Bonxie !! . . .’  We also learned that the name is often accompanied by the phrases ‘look out!!’ and ‘attack’.

I was totally flummoxed today, however, to see on the Portland Obs sightings that they were seeing “Gropper TFs”. 

One of you must me able to tell me, under what name this exotic birdie  will appear in my little RSPB guide book.

And while you all cogitate on this, are there any other local names I should learn?  After all, I don’t want to turn up at the new centre and be the ONLY one who doesn’t know what everyone’s  looking at when somebody shouts out ‘there’s a droopy-winged-marsh-shuffler.’

• Hi PossumDuck

I only joined this Group so that I could reply. I'm not local to Dorset so it's unlikely there's much point in me staying.

I can help you out with Gropper though. It stands for Grasshopper Warbler, one of our summer visitors. No idea what the TF stands for though. This birder jargon drives me bonkers too.

I saw your "Apathy" thread. If you feel neglected down there in deepest darkest Dorset why don't you participate in the main Forum. If you've got something interesting to tell us about or photos to show you'll get much more response.

Here's a link to the Wildlife Forum  www.rspb.org.uk/.../default.aspx

Tony

My Flickr Photostream