Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• Good morning, all. Limpy and I have just had our flu and Covid jabs, which is a relief - one of our closest neighbours has Covid and cases are coming up here.

Our herring gulls are red listed birds.  Think about that the next time you hear some flaming idiot calling for a cull of them.

• RUSTY Very Happy Birthday to you.

OG That is completely dreadful. No thought for others. Sorry for all of you.
  • Morning all: I assume Rusty is in the midst of her bday celebration as I type. I'm sure it was wonderful and lots of fun.

OG: Seems like utter and complete chaos in whatever system poor J is caught up in. Is there anyone who could be an advocate for him (apart from you and EE)? Someone in the mental health/general benefits field? Surely this can't be the only example of really poor management/communication? I can't imagine what kind of roller coaster ride you are all on with all this chopping and changing.