Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• Diane:  That sounds like a stunning combination.  Funny how the simplest things in nature can help lift our spirits. Perhaps the passing bird knew exactly what you needed.  Sorry the summer has been hard; sincerely hope the Fall will be easier.

Meanwhile, here's what gets me excited every year;  Our night-blooming cereus: 12" across and blooms just one night a year; pollinated by moths.  A miracle from such an unassuming plant. Be sure to click on them to see the amazing complexity....

• That is profoundly beautiful. ANNETTE!
  • That sounds beautiful, Diane. Could you post a photo of it? Someone on the main Community might be able to ID it.

Our herring gulls are red listed birds.  Think about that the next time you hear some flaming idiot calling for a cull of them.

• Stunning flower, Annette!