Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• Remember the old Bing Crosby song - ' I'm busy doing nothing '? Well that just about sums me up this week !
    I'm up to date with all your news, thank you :-)
  • I love that song, Heather. So funny.

Yes, it could be boomerang shower gel! I may try to do it again but very much doubt if I could, for a million pounds!I

Annette - Yes, starlings here are hooligans!

Sunny here, which is pleasant. I'm off to get my flu jab which I only booked 4 days ago online. My OH booked his over 3 weeks ago and doesn't get it until next Wednesday, and it's even in a different location!

• Today's quote:

Notice in a hardware shop:

"Husbands choosing paint colours must have a signed note from their wife."
  • Lindybird said:
    Husbands choosing paint colours must have a signed note from their wife.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!  That's brilliant.