Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• Gosh, lots to read & reply to:

OG - I'm keeping everything crossed for J. It does sound hopeful.

Dibnlib -Love the boat. There's something about an old boat that's almost tangible.

AQ - How annoying. I have found this sometimes, with regards to labels referring to colours. White certainly isn't as jolly or cheerful as the other colours you were hoping for!

Diane - You're very kind. Now, I wish I'd spent longer and had a go at rewriting the poem, which was just dashed off when I felt I needed to speak about Nature. Thank you, I'm humbled.
  • We're back home again - had a horrible journey back in driving rain with big lorries sending out torrents of spray. Why don't they have proper mudguards these days?
  • Lindybird said:
    We're back home again - had a horrible journey back in driving rain with big lorries sending out torrents of spray. Why don't they have proper mudguards these days?