Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• This is Provident a 99 year old boat from Brixham. Saw this on the Caledonian canal yesterday, isn't she beautiful.
  • Clare Bailey said:
    You might want to have a word with the shop - especially as you can't return them.  

Nah, it was an impulse buy at the supermarket. A reputable brand though. Next year I shall buy specific colours. . . from a plant nursery.

• Annoying about the bulbs AQ. I bought a tray of mixed cosmos this year (I usually buy all pink) trouble was, when I planted them, I didn’t know what colour they would turn out to be!!! Actually, they look quite nice all mixed up together. Other people have said so too,
    Dibnlib - beautiful boat. We crossed over the Caledonian Canal when I was up there on holiday.
    OG - thinking of J and hoping he is getting on OK.