Yellow and black magpie

• In reply to andys74:

Won't take small birds (compared to humans or dogs) much to overdose.

• Well I'm no expert so I have no idea of the cause, and as such I won't offer a theory. I'll simply enjoy seeing him in my garden every day, try to get some better pictures of him, try to stop him stealing my dog's food and report back on his well-being
  • In reply to andys74:

andys74 said:

Thanks for the replies everyone. We've had magpies nesting on our old sky dish for a few years now, but only recently noticed this wee fella looked a bit different. After watching him stealing my siberian husky's breakfast this morning I took some pics and did a bit of googling and found myself on this forum. I'm no expert bird watcher, more a nature enthusiast, but never seen one quite like this so thought it was worth sharing. My DSLR is now dragged out the cupboard with battery charged so hopefully I might get a better pic or two!

Andy

Just a thought, while a DSLR will produce better quality photos, the ones you've provided have been nice and clear, and I presume it is a smartphone. Not all DSLR's have GPS on, whereas all smartphones do, and if ever the location of your photographs came into question, ensure the GPS is on when you take photos, for that will be logged in the photo data.

Not that the integrity of the photos are in question, this is for future reference.

If your DSLR does have GPS, then the same, for any photos that might come into question, switch the GPS on and it will be stored with the photo data.

Mike

Flickr Peak Rambler

• Thanks for the advice Mike, here's a couple of (slightly) better pictures. Looks like he's found somewhere better to go for breakfast too!

• And at the risk of boring everyone, here's one more.

• Not at all boring Andy, good to know he/she still viisiting!

2013 photos & vids here

eff37 on Flickr

• Oh wow no I have never seen one like that!