Private Messages

Hi, 

still playing to the fact that I am a newbie on all the forums.  was wondering if the forums allow the use of private messages between subscribers, i've looked around but i suspect that I am missing something.

Apologies if this question has been asked before, i searched and could not find any answers.

in anticipation,

Mark

• Hi Mark

No private messages aren't allowed here.

If you wish to make contact with someone, you need to leave them a message on their ID by clicking on their ID name and then clicking Post a Message. :-)

Best wishes Chris

Click Here to see my photos

• Hi Mark

Please see your page for what is the only way of sending a PM (which means Public Message and not Private Message as other forums)

BTW - Great photos to date.

Richard

• I'd been wondering about this as well - it's used a lot on other forums. Makes arranging meets, lending gear etc alomost impossible due to the 'open to the public' nature of messages here. You'd never want to leave an email address, mobile phone nos if meeting up + home address / phone nos on a message as you'd have no idea who was reading them.

Have found as a result that there is a lot of 'cryptic posting' goes on. It means if a member of the community is finding life here difficult, (as some have been lately) it makes it hard to offer support due to the public nature of the messages.

So how open are the messages - who can all see them? Is it only members or are they open to all?

'In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks'  John Muir.       

Excuse wobbily dyslexic spelling!

• Ann S said:

So how open are the messages - who can all see them? Is it only members or are they open to all?

The messages on personal profile pages can be read by anyone, including non-registered guests. However, they can be deleted by the "owner" of the profile page at any time.

Cheers, Linda.

See my photos on Flickr