woodpecker sited in garden

Hi everybody i am a bit of a novice and a newby to this site so hope you understand if i make a hash of it!    I moved to my present abode about 12 months ago and am really enjoying the wildlife in my garden there are a number of large well established trees and shrubs and i get quite a variety of garden birds but today i was absolutely thrilled to see a spotted woodpecker feeding from my feeding station.  I have a variety of food for the birds but this one was at the peanuts.  Is this common ?

• Hi Cinderella

I am not going to say its common but Great Spotted Woodpeckers do like to visit peanut feeders, having said that i have never had one at mine so well done you, if you have a camera try and get some pictures we all love to see wildlife as well as hear about it. Oh yes and welcome to the forum.

Shane

• Hi Cinderella,

Welcome to the forum from me too.

We occasionally get Great Spotted Woodpeckers in my garden, they tend to like fat balls and suet cake when they visit us.

They are not an uncommon garden visitor in areas with a reasonable amount of woodland and mature trees nearby.

H

• thankyou both for your swift replies i will be getting a decent camera soon and will hopefully get the chance to take photo if it returns but will need some tuition first on how to add photo.   also thankyou for re directing my question to the right place I did say i was a novice didnt I !!!!

• Hi cinderella

I currently have 3 Great Spotted Woodpeckers visiting my peanut feeders every day. I hardly ever look out and see none anywhere. They are always worth watching

• Hi cinderella

As others have said Great Spotted Woodpeckers are becoming quite frequent visitors to gardens when there's something they like to eat. This doesn't mean that they are any less pleasurable to see.  There are differences between the males, females and juveniles as Robbo has said. To help you differentiate between then I thought you might like to see some pics.