Meat-eating woodpecker!

I'm no ornithologist but wondered if some of you would be able to comment on something I saw when I was walking my dogs in the woods (in East Sussex) on Monday. I saw a medium sized bird fly in to a tree with something dangling from its mouth, and managed to see it high in a tree top, identifying it as a Greater Spotted Woodpecker, trying to peck the life out of whatever it was. I had my DSLR on me and managed to get some shots and it was pretty obvious that what it was trying to eat was animal meat rather than insect or vegetable matter. How unusual is this? I note that the RSPB site says: What they eat- Insects, seeds and nuts. Whereas Wikipedia says: The food mainly consists of insects and grubs but also seeds, fruit, scraps, eggs, chicks and small rodents. I think I may have a rare picture of a flesh eating woodpecker!
  • Hi Ray, I'm no expert either but we do have a pair of G.S.Woodpeckers that visit our garden.   They will predate nests or nestboxes to take eggs, nestlings or fledglings so I'm afraid it could have been a baby bird that it had in its beak :(   We have had to add wire mesh around our bird boxes to protect the Blue Tits and Great Tits as the Woodpecker will drill the box to gain access to the chicks.     Hope this helps but I'm sure others can add more information than I can.    

• Thanks Hazel. I had never heard of this before, thanks for the confirmation. Initially I wasn't sure of what I was seeing. Regards, Ray

• Hi Ray

I can confirm what Hazel has said. Particularly when they are feeding hungry chicks they will take small birds from the nest. This is what one did to my nest box a few years ago. Even after I saw what was happening and tried to make some emergency protection the Woodpecker managed to take all but one of the Blue Tits inside. Quite heartbreaking at the time as they were almost on the point of fledging.