Disappearing Robins - Magpies to blame?

Hello all! I'm relatively new to the RSPB and getting to know about birds.

We have a beautiful, nature-rich shared garden in central Edinburgh with lots of different types of birds.

There have always been a lot of robins and this spring there were more than ever and lots of gorgeous young.

They were pretty tame and gallus too.

Then the Magpies came back about the end of May (do they migrate and return - we usually have a few) and overnight the robins vanished - completely.

Now the predominant bird sounds are those of the blackbirds fighting off the magpies almost constantly through the day.

Can anyone shed any light?

Is this normal?

The magpies appear to be the aggressors but the robins never left before...

Thanks for any knowledge!

All the best, Chrissy

• My robins are also skulking about out of sight - it's normal for this time of year and magpies and corvids in general are more obvious as they live in family groups and have naughty, noisy youngsters - hopefully they will disperse out into the the wider countryside - it's another reason not to feed through the summer months as it encourages the larger birds to move away rather than devise ways of breaking into or flying off with feeders
  • Hello and welcome to the forum Christina, and probably more important, you might want to consider changing your user name from your email, because content on the forum is visible to the world, and I'm sure you don't want to become victim to spam.

I felt the same, the robin's disappearing acts, and currently here, we're only seeing juvenile robins, whereas magpies tend to stick around irrespective, nor do they migrate. Magpies are often the aggressors, not just from a territorial perspective, or food, but they too will have young and as any parent will, they also will be very protective toward their young.

I have video somewhere of a magpie challenging a cat in our garden, so they don't hold back.