West Canvey visit 19 Oct 2010

Called in to West Canvey this afternoon after arriving at Old Leigh just in time to help the team pack up early due to the cold and rain.

Went to the east hide and, despite a grass cutting tractor at the side of the scrape, the birds were still around and the rain held off.

7 curlew, 7 Bar-tailed ( I think, but far way for 100% ID) godwit, one with leg rings but too far away to get a full ID, little grebe x 2, grey and pied wagtail, lapwing, shoveler, teal, mallard, and shelduck (plus gulls of course). Always more than you think when you first arrive.

Bob F

• Bob, welcome to the south Essex community and thanks for your help again this year at our brent goose watch, you are always welcome to help when you can.

• Hi, just signed up.

Had my first visit to West Canvey Marsh today and boy did I enjoy it. The weather was cloudy with some fine drizzle but that didn't dampen my spirits.

I have to say what a gem West Canvey is, as I am relatively new to the RSPB and twitching but am slowly getting the hang of it after 3 years. Today I saw my 1st Brambling which was great for me I also saw.......a nice list now...... Meadow Pippit, Green woodpecker, Goldfinch, Chaffinch, Reed Bunting, Skylark, Wren, Pied wagtail, Blue, Great and Longtailed Tits, Wren, Robin, Dunnock Little Egret, Curlew, Grey Heron, Teal, Shoveler, Wigeon, Greenshank, Greylag Geese, Shellduck, Mallard,  Starlin, Blackbird, Song Thrush, Magpie, numerous Pigeons and Gulls. All in all a good list from a 3 hour visit.

The only surprising thing was that I did not see one raptor at all. (plenty of food about for them though!!) I had the whole reserve to myself as I did not see a sole until I was about to leave, so a nice and peacefull birdwatching session. You can't beat it :-)

Cheers.

Feed The Birds....not the cats!!!!

I know....my spelling's crap !!

• Robbo