Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• OG Fingers crossed for J and so pleased he has coped with it all. OHs eye is still a bit red but much better thank you.
  • Lindy - I hope your OH has been able to fix the heating. It does sound as if Sue has got an ear infection. I hope you were able to persuade her to go to the doctors. I am sorry you are not feeling too good and I hope your blood pressure was OK. Mind you, it often goes up when people go to the doctors doesn’t it!! My friend’s doctor calls it “white coat syndrome”!!
    OG - I hope J has secured a job. Enjoy your lunch at the garden centre tomorrow