Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• I'll have to do replies tomorrow, because right now I am too full of swearywords!

J came home this afternoon with his latest news. The new head has decided that he was wrongly given the job – it should have been advertised! He can "stay if he wants" until an appointment has been made! She hadn’t even got the gumption to come and tell him herself – she sent someone with a nessage! Whart is the point of being on a zero hours contract to go where needed and then not be allowed to fill a gap which needs filling? GGGRRR!

• Clare - my AONB is the Clwydian Range and Dee Valley. Parts of it are indeed quite hilly.