Weekly Chat (Non-Osprey), 17 September 2023

HAPPY NEW WEEK!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

For various reasons, I've had a bad summer. So. I concluded today that I need to improve my quality of life. I went outdoors and sat down on my front step to think. There on the sidewalk in front of me was a big, astonishingly beautiful feather. It appeared to be about 11 inches long. The shaft was a brilliant silver color. The bottom was a silver gray with white splotches, and the upper section was a mottled deep brown and midnight black. The edges were outlined in black and silver. 

I'm not good at identifying feathers, and I didn't recognize the bird species. I don't think it was a hawk feather. It wasn't a bald eagle, a goose, a duck, a vulture, or a wild turkey. It could have been an owl, but I didn't recognize it. 

As Annette said earlier, this is the time of peak migration here in the Midwest. Millions of birds are in the sky during the 3 hours after sunset. So, I reckon a bird from up north decided to visit me. I felt uplifted.

Take care, all.

• Evening all: Must make plans to get our various jabs organized.

AQ: Did your OH get his wifi back? Wonder what could be affecting his access given that he's closer to the box (assume no other electronics blocking the signal). Odd. And so typically techy. Are those miners full-time residents or just passing through? Seems every species (not sure if that's correct in this context) has its bullies. And as OG says, the bird looks seriously bad-tempered in the photo.

OG: It's really good to hear that you're out and about and also busy with the church newsletter. Glad the quiz was fun.
    Where does that happen? I forgot. Anyway, too much time on our hands isn't a good thing. The disorganization at J's -new employer sounds oh-so-very typical.