LLYN BRENIG - July 2022

link to JUNE 2022

1st fish of July 2022 arrived at 07.34. Not too shabby an effort! Headless trout delivered by LJ2 whilst LM6 was off the nest. She soon followed on to collect the fish.

It looks like it was a nice calm morning.

LM6 and the chicks got a couple of feeds off this fish before LJ2 took it away. He returned with what was left at around 10.40.

LJ2 started eating it on the nest. Chick #2 came to see if it could get any and LJ2 gently fed it a few pieces before finishing it off.

• Glider said:
    Is it right now? I’m still learning as I go along!

Is fine now, I know where I am! Lol

• WendyBartter said:
    Glider said:
    Is it right now? I’m still learning as I go along!

Is fine now, I know where I am! Lol

———————————————-

Hahaha!! Thumbsup

• Saturday 02.07.22

Good soggy morning and what a miserable night it’s been weather wise. Thankfully LJ2 brought a wee breakfish to the nest at 06.01.

Very tricky to get a clear view of the fish as it was small and blocked by the ospreys’ bodies.

I think it may be a perch. Tried the magnifier tool on the next photo but clarity isn’t there.

Anyway, LM6 was pleased to take it and feed it to the chicks.

You get a view of the tail end here with the magnifier on it.

The feed lasted under 10 minutes which shows how small the fish was.

Towards the end of the feed chick #1 suddenly stood up in an aggressive position and turned on chick #2. I think chick #2 had been getting more of the feed.

Chick #1 pecked at #2, chasing it towards the top of the nest where #2 bowed into a submissive position. This is the first time I’ve seen this happen at a feed although they’ve had the odd squabble whilst mum’s been off the nest.

It didn’t last long and LM6 was soon back on top of the chicks keeping them warm.

• Around 08.15 LM6 and chick with a lovely headshot. The chick looks so much like mum now.