This blog was last updated on 1 September 2020 and will no longer be updated. For all the latest information about our reserve facilities and what measures are in place to keep visitors, staff and volunteers safe please visit: https://www.rspb.org.uk/our-work/rspb-news/news/stories/coronavirus/reserve-reboot/

 

Visiting our reserves: Check before you go!

With the continued easing of restrictions in Scotland we know that a lot of you (and us!) will be really keen to get out there and explore Scotland’s amazing wildlife and landscapes. Knowing just how important nature is for all us we are working hard to get our reserve facilities open once again so we can welcome you back safely onto our sites.

Like many other organisations we have had to furlough a number of our front of house teams in order to help the charity through this tricky time.  We are beginning to bring staff back to work and ensure our sites have all the necessary systems in place to keep visitors, staff and volunteers safe.  It may mean some of our facilities will remain closed for now but we will open them up just as soon as we can. 

With this in mind we have pulled together a quick and easy table of what facilities are currently open at each site.  This will be regularly updated with the latest information so please check back here before visiting.

Our paths are accessible in line with the Scottish Outdoor Access Code and as ever we ask that visitors respect nature and act responsibly.  All visitors should also follow the latest Scottish Government advice on physical distancing and hygiene.

A few top tips if heading out to our reserves –

  • With reports around the UK of species coming closer to busy paths than usual we ask that you follow signage around the reserve or advice from staff and volunteers in order to help protect the wildlife.
  • Like many of our staff, our reserves may be in need of a good haircut. Staff have been brought back to do essential conservation work initially which may mean some paths and viewpoints have become overgrown or a little unkempt.  We will be working hard to get these areas cut back but please bear with us.  
  • Maintaining physical distancing – stay at least 2m away from other people, including people working at the reserve. Be prepared to slow down or stop if needed to help maintain the necessary distance from others.
  • Avoid touching surfaces like gates as much as possible. We will leave gates open if we can but this isn’t always possible (we don’t want the cows to escape!) so please use hand sanitiser before and after touching the gates and wash your hands or gloves as soon as you get home.  Please leave gates as you find them.
  • Keep all dogs close to heel or on a short lead. Not only does this help the wildlife and ground nesting birds on the reserve it helps avoid uninvited contact with other people or animals.
  • Access to our island reserves may be restricted in line with ferry capacities, government advice and local restrictions. Please check with the relevant ferry company before you travel.
  • Help our wildlife to thrive by taking all your litter home, respecting nature and following the Scottish Outdoor Access Code.

We hope you enjoy getting back out in nature and we can’t wait to welcome you back.

As our reserve shops remain closed please visit: rspb.org.uk/shop

For further information on visiting Scotland’s natural places please visit –

Scottish Outdoor Access Code - https://www.outdooraccess-scotland.scot/

Cairngorms National Park - https://cairngorms.co.uk/

Loch Lomond Trossachs National Park - https://www.lochlomond-trossachs.org/

Last updated  1 September  2020

Please note that some of the facilities at the reserves are owned and run by our partners. We are working with them to get these open as soon as possible but only when it is safe for everyone to do so. 

  Car parks Paths and trails Toilets Hides and viewing structures  Visitor/
Information
Centre
Reserve information
Argyll & Bute            
RSPB Scotland Coll open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/coll
RSPB Scotland Colonsay and Oronsay closed all open n/a n/a n/a
RSPB Scotland Loch Gruinart open all open closed some open closed rspb.org.uk/lochgruinart
RSPB Scotland The Oa open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/theoa

 

           
Central Scotland            
RSPB Scotland Black Devon Wetlands n/a all open n/a all open n/a rspb.org.uk/blackdevonwetlands
RSPB Scotland Inversnaid closed all open n/a n/a closed rspb.org.uk/inversnaid

 

Car parks Paths and trails Toilets Hides and viewing structures Visitor/Information 
Centre
 Reserve information
Dumfries & Galloway            
RSPB Scotland Crook of Baldoon open all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/crookofbaldoon
RSPB Scotland Ken Dee Marshes open all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/kendeemarshes
RSPB Scotland Mersehead open all open closed closed closed rspb.org.uk/mersehead
RSPB Scotland Mull of Galloway open all open open closed closed rspb.org.uk/mullofgalloway
RSPB Scotland Wood of Cree open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/woodofcree

 

           
North East            
RSPB Scotland Fowlsheugh n/a all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/fowlsheugh
RSPB Scotland Loch of Strathbeg open all open open closed closed rspb.org.uk/lochofstrathbeg
RSPB Scotland Loch Spynie open all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/loch-spynie/
RSPB Scotland Troup Head open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/trouphead

 

Car parks Paths and trails Toilets Hides and viewing structures Visitor/Information
Centre
 Reserve information
Highlands            
RSPB Scotland Broubster Leans open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/broubsterleans
RSPB Scotland Corrimony open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/corrimony
RSPB Scotland Culbin Sands open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/culbinsands
RSPB Scotland Dunnet Head open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/dunnethead
RSPB Scotland Fairy Glen open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/fairyglen
RSPB Scotland Forsinard open all open open closed closed rspb.org.uk/forsinard
RSPB Scotland Glenborrodale closed all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/glenborrodale
RSPB Scotland Insh Marshes open all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/inshmarshes
RSPB Scotland Loch Garten open all open closed closed closed rspb.org.uk/lochgarten
RSPB Scotland Loch Ruthven closed all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/lochruthven
RSPB Scotland Nigg Bay open all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/niggbay
RSPB Scotland Udale Bay closed all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/udalebay   
Tollie Red Kites closed n/a closed closed closed rspb.org.uk/tollieredkites

 

           
Lanarkshire / Renfrewshire /
Dumbartonshire
           
RSPB Scotland Baron's Haugh open all open n/a some open n/a rspb.org.uk/baronshaugh
RSPB Scotland Loch Lomond open all open closed n/a closed rspb.org.uk/lochlomond
RSPB Scotland Lochwinnoch open all open open closed closed rspb.org.uk/lochwinnoch

 

           
Na h-Eileanan Siar (Western Isles)            
RSPB Scotland Balranald open all open open closed closed rspb.org.uk/balranald
RSPB Scotland Loch Druidibeg open all open n/a n/a n/a https://bit.ly/LochDruidibeg
RSPB Scotland Loch Na Muilne open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/lochnamuilne

 

Car parks Paths and trails Toilets Hides and viewing structures  Visitor/Information 
Centre
 
Reserve information
Orkney            
RSPB Scotland Birsay Moors closed all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/birsaymoors
RSPB Scotland Brodgar open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/brodgar
RSPB Scotland Cottascarth closed all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/cottascarth
RSPB Scotland Hobbister open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/hobbister
RSPB Scotland Hoy n/a all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/hoy
RSPB Scotland Marwick Head open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/marwickhead
RSPB Scotland Mill Dam n/a all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/milldam
RSPB Scotland North Hill n/a all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/northhill
RSPB Scotland Noup Cliffs n/a all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/noupcliffs
RSPB Scotland Onziebust n/a all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/onziebust
RSPB Scotland The Loons
and Loch of Banks
open all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/theloons
RSPB Scotland Trumland n/a all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/trumland

 

           
Shetland            
RSPB Scotland Fetlar n/a all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/fetlar
RSPB Scotland Loch of Spiggie n/a all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/lochofspiggie
RSPB Scotland Mousa closed all open n/a n/a n/a rspb.org.uk/mousa
RSPB Scotland Sumburgh Head open all open closed n/a closed rspb.org.uk/sumburghhead

 

           
Tayside            
RSPB Scotland Loch of Kinnordy open all open n/a closed n/a rspb.org.uk/lochofkinnordy
RSPB Scotland Loch Leven open all open open closed Fri - Mon - 11am-3pm  rspb.org.uk/lochleven
Anonymous