sparrow hawk sightings

hi all.i read with interest the posts relating to sightings of sparrow hawks,buzzards etc during the big garden birdwatch.i have been bird watching for the past 5 years,and am particularly lucky to live near open fields and farmland,prior to actualy seeing a sparrow hawk in the garden,there were several occasions when there was evidence that one had payed a visit,ie feathers lying about.though this slightly upset me at the time,i was keen to actualy see one,so spent days hiding with camera at the ready,what i witnessed was really intresting,on several occasions a sparrow hawk[male] would fly in to make a kill,but nine times out of ten he would be unsucessfull,however there was one occasion when he did make a kill,yes it did upset me,but i am a firm believer that one should not interfere with nature,but i was amazed at how clever the sparrow hawk was in using his wings to prevent his prey from escaping.i am no expert in orthonology,but i am sure we who entice birds into our gardens by putting feeders out are in fact creating an ideal enviroment for predatory birds.i am not saying this is a bad thing,the reverse in fact,because i am sure some of us might never have seen such beautiful birds  had it not been for the fact that we wanted to feed the smaller birds in the first place.yes nature can throw some surprisses at us,but it is the only way we can learn.i would be interested in other members views,particularly those in the know.thank you

• I have had a Sparrow Hawk in my garden eating a pigeon here in Ipswich.

Kind regards Richard.

• One made a kill in my garden yesterday here in Brentwood.

Ben

• Saw my first kill on the way home from work (thursday) here in Alvaston, Derby. It was amazing to watch.

In order to see birds it is necessary to become part of the silence.
    - Robert Lynd