Photographing a Kingfisher

I'm still fairly new to bird watching  but some of my family have for years and one bird they've seen many times that I've wanted to is the kingfisher. It's always eluded me whenever I'd hoped to see one. Until a couple of weeks ago I was just passing a local park and looking at what ducks were around- I then heard a noise and looked and it was a bright blue bird skimming rapidly across the water. I could only think it had to be a kingfisher! I waited around and it later flew back across the small lake again, and then later I even spotted it diving in the corner! I went past today and thought I'd take a look and sure enough after waiting I saw it again on a few occasions! Skimming across the same areas as before, so it's great if it is a regular visitor there. 

It appears from a stream out of view which public can't access so I assume it has burrowed a nest into the banks there? I was wondering on any tips for how to photograph one. I don't have a quality camera with zoom unfortunately so it might be impossible for me. But either to get a stationary shot of it's typical pose on a branch (I saw it reappear on a stump out of the water today but as soon as I quietly approached nearer to get a photo it zoomed away), or just filming it skimming across the lake would be good too. I only have a phone camera though, unless I can find someone local to lend me a camera. I will take my binoculars next time for sure and hope I can keep up following it! But the great thing is it's far enough away that you can follow it in flight.

I forget the time I saw it the first time, possibly a similar time. But today it was between 5:30-6:20 which I saw it 4 different times. Is the evening regularly the best time to spot it, as it's hunting for it's dinner? Slight smile