seeds for sparrows

hi i've been feeding my garden birds for about 3 years and i'm pleased to report a steady rise in sparrow numbers when i do the spring survey. i have 3 feeders and they are clung onto by everything from doves, tits, sparrows, starlings, crows, robins, dunnocks, green finches and squirrels.

i've been trying to help the sparrows out due to their declining numbers, but it seems whichever type of seed mix i buy, they want to pick out specific seeds and ditch half the rest all over the floor. this seems to be worse now i've bought them some johnston and jeff premium which is wheat and husk free and full of small seeds. it just seems like if they have a favourite type of seed in the feeder they will prefer to rummage for them regardless of all the other small seeds. I can't tell what they're picking out of this mix but they used to pick the hemp out of another old mix. this premium mix contains: 

Canary Seed, Natural Groats, Milo, Millet, Wild Seeds, Suet Pellets, Sunflower Hearts, Sorghum, Rapeseed, Peanut Nibs, Aniseed

has anyone else found this problem? does anyone feed them single seeds and if so which type? i've no idea what they would eat in the wild?

appreciate any help thanks

• Hi L,

White Sunflower Hearts are all i feed.They are fantastic and all the birds love them  as well as the gorgeous Sparrow.

We had such a bad winter and so much snow we lost many Sparrows here and i am so pleased to report i have now several babies all flying around now and feeding from the hearts with vigour.Oh, no mess or waste either. After over 30 years of feeding lots of variety for me  it is the best food ever.

• Hi lovelylowlife,

glad to hear that you are giving the Sparrows a helping hand.  They really need it, in my opinion :o)