Odin

At 1.30pm on Friday 3rd April 2009 a new male osprey arrived at Loch Garten and began to woo EJ who has had a difficult time at Loch Garten since she arrived on June 16th 2003 having been evicted from her own nest.

At the time we said that we would give the new male time to settle in before passing judgent. As the season darws to a close maybe it is the time to say what Odin has come to mean to you and how he compares to previous Loch Garten males like OVS, Henry and Ollie?

• I have had no experience of EJ's previous mates but I remember saying about Odin the Magnificent and his fishing skills that I gave him (actually, I can't remember  but....it was probably)..10 out of 10 BUT  was reserving any distinction until the girls were teenagers. When the girls WERE teenagers I did have some reservations about the distinction 'cos I just had no experience of what to expect from a male Osprey.

But now, with them all about to leave with all my heart I give Odin a distinction.  I wish I'd known Henry (how special and hard to be a one parent family, whenever that was. And Ollie...yes I would very much have liked to have known Ollie.

So, those of you who did view these special males 'in operation' I am eagerly awaiting more comments to Tiger's thread.

• Hi Tiger,

Can't compare to the previous males, but in my opinion, Odin is a good'un.    I love the way he just flew in out of nowhere, took command, provided mother and babies with ample food as well as vigorously (and victoriously) defending the nest whenever an intruder threatened.   Like all story-book heroes, he's surrounded with a bit of mystery!  Hope he (and EJ, of course) makes it back next year.