• Andrew's First Blog

Hi, my name is Andrew and I am a part time volunteer at the Exe Estuary Reserve. Having spent 6 months with the National Trust I’ve built up a good background in the practical side of woodland conservation and estate maintenance.  Moving to the RSPB has been an exciting change for me, as I was hoping to work more closely with nature, while gaining experience of surveying and managing a different kind of habitat.

• Nicks First Blog

Hello everyone, my name is Nick, another of the new residential volunteers here at Exe Estuary. My background is in tropical conservation of mainly marine species, so the RSPB is a bit of a diversion for me but excellent experience in UK conservation and species management, and a thoroughly worthwhile cause to get involved in.

Learning the ropes has been hard work, with a varied array of tasks to be performed each…

• Hannah's First Blog

So just to start with an introduction, my name is Hannah and I am one of the new Residential Volunteers here at the Exe Estuary. I have always been interested in nature and wanted to work within conservation and will be working with the RSPB for the next six months to increase my knowledge and skills within the field. My first week is drawing to an end and so far it has been wet, muddy and tiring but wonderful. Just like…

• Steve's Mid June Blog

Well, the end of our first week without Ryan and Phill, our long term residential volunteers. So I am on my own in the house for a few days. However, exciting times are ahead with three new volunteers starting up with us in the next couple of weeks, so I wish them all well.

This last week has been mainly taken up by infrastructure works on Exminster marshes, with the ongoing fence and gate repairs which have been damaged…

• Joshua's First (and Last!) Blog Post