Damaged blue tit box

Hi, I'm new on here, I'd really like to find out what made this extra hole in my box, (photo should be attached) I thought I'd been so clever putting a plate around the existing hole! Any help much appreciated, thanks in advance
  • Good evening PPW16 and a warm welcome from me up in the very far north of Scotland, in Caithness. Which part are you from? That is a puzzler? Could it be a woodpecker, not sure. Someone on here will be able to help I am sure. We are a friendly lot, all doing the same thing, following the posts that you will see are excellent. Enjoy here.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

• Hello Catlady, many thanks for your reply! I'm along way from you, I'm in Canterbury, Kent. I'm a real novice bird watcher, but I love feeding and observing my birds. I wondered if it might be the woodpecker, but I wasn't sure they ate other birds

• Reckon it could be a Great Spotted Woodpecker they will go through the side of a nest box to get at chicks.

Pete

Birding is for everyone no matter how good or bad we are at it,enjoy it while you can

• Thank you Pete, you live and learn!

• Hi PPW16, looks like it could be the woodpecker. I had one in them garden for a quick visit on two occasions. Like you, I do enjoy watching and feeding and not forgetting learning about the birds in my garden. Have been on here for a year and a half and have learned so much from other folks, by posts and pictures. At the moment the Blackbirds have their young out on the lawn, they have a nest in one of the bushes. the Robin also has a nest in the garden, not quite sure where, but my great excitement was two weeks ago I noticed a blue tit with feathers in her beak going into a box I only put up a few months ago( present from christmas). This happened twice, saw them coming out one day but nothing since, but this morning they came out the box, so at least I know they are still there, hope there will be little ones! Can't wait. TTFN