Line and Wash

Hi everyone, so I was browsing the art section yesterday and saw some very lovely watercolours and sketches that other members have made which got me into an art mood myself. So, I found my watercolours and a moleskine sketch book that I was going to use for urban sketching but, being out in the field made me realise its size is not very good for what I intended to use it for.  But, it was a good size for small birds so I decided to use it for line and wash.

Now I'm not very good with watercolours myself, I'm more of a pencil, pen and ink person, but maybe i'll improve with watercolours if I post in the art section on here a bit more.

So this is the painting of a Treecreeper I made, using the photograph from the thread "Gosforth Park Woodland Birds" as reference. I made a light sketch, inked it then added some watercolour down.

Enjoy!  

• Looks really good to me WE, I appreciate people who have the talent to draw, paint, can do neither myself.

• Thanks everyone! It means a lot to me as I am even more passionate in art than birding and photography (which is easier compared to art for me). Unfortunately, self doubt and pressure to improve quickly in art had hindered me in perusing it. I'd quite like a career (not something extravagant but able to survive off, I'm a simple person) in it in the future and I'm still young so if I can motivate myself a bit more, I may yet have hope hahaha.  

• You've tried watercolour again after saying you're not good, which is great. I think the more you do it, the better you get and the more comfortable you become doing it (even if you never stop wanting to do better) so if you want to do it, keep at it :)

• Wildlife Endeavours said: