Nature on Your Doorstep Community

A place to learn, share and inspire others to create a haven for you and for wildlife.

Sign In or Register to join the conversation

Bird Photographs

I love watching the birds and other wildlife in my garden, and take a lot of pictures. I would like to share a few of them with you! I have thousands and thousands, and so obviously can't show them all, but here are just a couple of my favourites to get you started. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! :)

This is my first time here on this forum and so I have no idea how I'm supposed to use it - apologies if I've done anything wrong!

• Unknown said:

Hi Anna,

Again more lovely photos!

We had a racing pigeon that came in once, we named him Schumacher! He was black and white and stayed for a couple of weeks feeding from the feeder, quite tame.  One day I came out to find him perched on the back of the garden chair right near the back door watching me.  So I chatted away to him (as you do) and he then flew off.  We never saw him again.  I'd like to think he was waiting to say goodbye in a silly sentimental kind of way.....but when I saw the rather large deposit he'd left on the chair...mmmm perhaps not!

We did have photos of him but alas we lost these when our hard drive failed.

Haha....Schumacher, that's a bit better than the name I gave this one, all it seemed to do whenever I saw it was eat....so I called it Piggy! It was an affectionate term though, I loved that pigeon! I do hope it found its way home again. Oh a hard-drive failure....I know the pain that can bring, my external hard-drive got knocked off the desk by one of my dogs and broken into several pieces, I lost countless treasured photos :(

• Hello again everyone! I know this doesn't really fit in this thread, but I didn't feel I ought to start a new one just to tell you this!