Help wanted! Does anybody know what this is?

I have recently created a small wildlife pond in the garden. Whilst fishing out a couple of dead slugs this afternoon I noticed a number of 'tadpole' type creatures swimming around. They don't look like frogs to me but I don't know what else they could be. Any ideas? I've taken a photograph of one but can't upload it...
  • Hi Laura

I'm no expert but what about baby newts?

Have you read the How To thread re uploading photos.

www.rspb.org.uk/.../108794.aspx

Make sure you click on the "Use rich formatting" so that you open the full editor and keep the size of your photo below 2Mb

Regards,Tony

My Flickr Photostream 

• In reply to Laura M:

Thanks TeeJay!  

• In reply to Laura M:

Well done for posting a photo. I really don't know what that is so will have to pass on this one. Someone will know for sure.

Regards,Tony

My Flickr Photostream 

• In reply to TeeJay:

I think it is what's charmingly known as a 'rat-tailed maggot' - the larval stage of a species of large hoverfly (Eristalis tenax, sometimes called Drone-fly). The 'tail' is actually a breathing tube.

My blog: http://mazzaswildside.blogspot.co.uk/

My Flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/124028194@N04/

• In reply to aiki:

I agree with Aiki, and I am afraid they like stagnant water. Do you have sufficient submerged plants? You might want to do a water change until plant life gets established. 

• In reply to Robbo:

Eurgh!! Thanks for clarifying though.  I've got a couple of plants in there which are doing well. Is changing the water the only option? Can you recommend any plants which may deter this in future?

• In reply to Laura M:

I have hornwart (Ceratophyllum demersum) in my pond. Grows quite quickly and helps keep nitrogen levels under control. Also very good for damselfly larvae to hide amongst. When I do my limited water changes, I often end up with a bunch of the stuff and newt larvae.