Nature on Your Doorstep Community

A place to learn, share and inspire others to create a haven for you and for wildlife.

Sign In or Register to join the conversation

Introducing my garden and looking for ideas

Hello everyone! I’m very new to gardening as it’s the first time I’ve got a garden and I started working at it only a few months ago, which means that I don’t know anything! When I moved in, the garden was covered in gravels. Here’s a picture of how it was:

I really wanted to create a haven for wildlife (that was the main reason for renting a house with garden). So I started digging here and there quite randomly, storing the pebbles away, lifting the plastic thing underneath them, piling up logs and sticks, pinching (ehm…) seeds and cuttings from road sides and so on. To be honest, I didn’t know what I was doing, and I still don’t! That’s why I’m asking for ideas. I’ve read Higgy’s blog (hello Higgy and thanks, I’ve enjoyed every word and picture of your blog!), which has been a great inspiration and made me realise that I should have made a plan before starting!

Here’s what it looks like at the moment. I know it’s ugly, that’s why I’m asking for help! At least wildlife likes it. :-)

Left side, between the two sheds:

Bed near the entrance on the left. In spring I sowed a mix of wild flower seeds, but only Californian poppies grew.

At the moment, my only plan is to create a small pond, because I’ve seen frogs and toads in the garden (I’ve put out several shallow water pots). I don’t really know where to place it though. For the rest, I’m still quite lost on what to do. I’d like to make the garden nicer, more interesting and even more wildlife-friendly.