Dead baby birds

Im new to this so 'hi' everyone, advice needed please...I went out this morning to put food on the bird table and across the lawn were three dead baby birds that were not properly developed I.e. no feathers,very young, and still slightly transparent if that makes sense. It was really sad to see and even worse to pick them up, still not sure what to do with them? Any ideas why they would be on the lawn, they're not obviously attacked and there's no sign of nest around the garden.
  • It is always sad to find dead birds, especially those that are so young. It does sound like these birds have been removed from their nest. One could suspect a predator, but then where the young not eaten, unless there were disturbed. Young can often be evacuated from a nest by competing adult birds.

• What awful news.  How terrible for you to find those little birds. My heart goes out to the parents because they dont understand.  Hoperfully like Birdie Wild says they may have another brood.  Fingers crossed.

• Hey Birdie Wild, well done on your little secret about the stone and the flower on top - thats something I would do too.

• Thanks everyone, we will have a private burial this evening! They were as you suggested sort of in a line weirdly, maybe neighbours cat.

On a more cheery note any ideas for attracting something other than sparrows to the bird table?! We don't get a huge variety of birds to the garden, possibly as its quite a built up residential area with not many bird friendly neighbours...I have seed feeders hanging and a table but not much interest.

• Or some suet products then you will be over run with Starlings as well as Sparrows :-)

Nowt wrong with Sparrows they are on the red list and their little communities are so wonderful to watch through the year.

Sunflower hearts have brought both Greenfinch and Goldfinch into the garden now that the breeding season has started the Chaffinches have left like they do ever year.