Feeding a baby thrush and releasing it back to the wild

Hello everyone,

One question please. I went for a walk in the woods and saw a hooded crow attacking a baby thrush, It seemed as if it would eat it.

I ran and scared the hooded crow but I could not leave the baby thrush alone as I thought she would be eaten by the other many hooded crows.

I rang a vet and he suggested feeding the ba y thrush with cat food due to the fat and protein present and to give the baby thrush water using a dropper.

So far I managed feeding the baby thrush. My question is do one need to feed them through the night as well? 

How long should I keep the baby thrush with me before releasing it back to the wild? I would be afraid of releasing it when it is still defenseless.

I do look forward from hearing your advise and many thanks for taking the time to read my post.

• Hi Gabriela,   I'm not an expert but as it is very late and you may not get a response from a more knowledgeable member tonight, therefore  I would suggest not overfeeding this young thrush if you have given it some cat food and water droplets a few times;    I would let it rest somewhere quiet and then early morning I would check on it again and if it survives the night then begin to give it a little more moistened cat food but ensure it is producing droppings after a feed.     Because this young bird was attacked it may have other injuries, not always seen so if it survives till morning I would contact your nearest wildlife help although because we are still in a pandemic situation it may be difficult to find someone to take on the bird and most rescue places are closed at the moment and not accepting animals.     HERE IS A LINK where you fill in details like, species:  Garden Bird,  fledgling thrush.....    and if you enter your location it should give you a list of local help that you can try and contact.   Failing that you should take it to the nearest vet;    most vets do not charge for wildlife but at the very l