Is it OK to feed maggots to birds?

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie and have loads of ?'s which will probably seem very silly, so apologies.

I've got some mealworms on order for the birds when they are nesting etc, but they are dearer than maggots from the fishing shop. Is it ok to feed live maggots? I did wonder as they are smaller than mealworms whether they'd be ok for the babies in the nests, when they are there of cors!!!!

• Hi Lyndsey and welcome to the forum!

It is best to avoid feeding maggots as they can be fed offal and things that could be contaminated, which could cause harm to birds if they are eaten by them.  Some also are dyed and the chemicals used could have negative effects.

Mealworms are fed on vegetable matter which makes them a much safer option and are bred to be eaten by birds and exotic pets so the standards of hygine are usually considerably higher so though they cost more they are a considerably better option.  They are also fine for baby birds to eat.

If you are wanting to save a bit of money you could try breeding mealworms, there is a guide on breeding your own here - http://www.exotic-pets.eu/mealworms.php

• Hi Lyndseypops

I think mealworms are much cleaner than maggots.  Not sure if this is correct or not, but as maggots feed on rotten meat, they can become contaminated whereas mealworms are fed on oatmeal so are safe.  I'm sure someone with more knowledge than me will answer your question soon.

• I am no expert, but I have read on one forum that maggots may contain salmonella so should not be given to birds. I know there is a thread for cheap mealworms, that someone bought from ebay. I think Sparrow has ordered some and the quality was good.

Sarah

http://www.rspb.org.uk/community/forums/p/10126/72768.aspx#72768

This is the link to the thread about meal worms

• Hello Kattai, thanks for the welcome,