Camera Advice Needed Please

Hi all,

I'm looking for some advice on what camera I should buy on a pretty low budget circa £600.  

I'm a complete novice and very much a point and click person at present.  The reason I want the camera isn't to create artistic shots (though you never know if that's down the line in the future) but to take photographs of birds that I have no idea what they are so that I can study them when I get home to try to work it out.  I'm new to bird watching so really struggle with differentiating types of birds, like pipits and warblers for example.  The trouble is, when looking at them through binoculars they don't usually hang around long enough for me to leaf through my bird guide to work out what they are.  

I know nothing about cameras but want something with a decent zoom so I can see things as easily (if not easier) than through my binoculars. Appreciate £600 isn't very much in camera terms but any help is much appreciated. 

Thanks, 

TM

• Your best bet will be to go to a decent camera shop and actually feel how they are in your hand. The salesman will be able to give you advice re the promotions and deals they can do. Also, they may have a 2nd hand range available too. When I started a few years ago I went with a Panasonic bridge camera to get the hang of it, before starting to fiddle about with DSLR and interchangeable lenses. A bridge camera is also lighter so more portable for any long walks you may do. There have been a few threads that will be worth searching on the site, with lots of good info in
  • I'll second the advice regarding visiting a reputable camera outlet.

The big names, like Canon, Nikon, Sony, and Panasonic to name just a few, do have starter cameras within that budget, both as DSLR where you need lenses, and as bridge cameras.

First, have a look at new and used. There can be some good deals to be had with used and often used cameras come with some sort of short term guarantee.