Photoshop

I need a bit of help as i'm new to birding and photography  and as i'm now semi retired and have a lot of time on my hands its something I want to get into. However I would also like to get into editing my photos and this is where I need the help. what Photoshop product should I get to do the basic editing.

When searching the internet it looks like I could spend the best part of £3billion on Photoshop as there seems to be so much of it.

• Am in similar position Phil, currently looking into Corel Paint Shop Pro X8 Ultimate as  have been seeing in current reviews that it is comprehensive & easy to use & much more affordable at £55.99 on Black Friday deal ... but do not know enough to recommend purchase!

• For a first step you could do worse than Picasa - it's a free download: http://picasa.google.com/. The editing options are quite limited compared to Photoshop but if you are brand new to this kind of thing it'd help you get started without any outlay, and once you have explored what it can do you can decide whether to go for something more sophisticated.

The Gimp: http://www.gimp.org/downloads/ is another free software package - it is much more powerful than Picasa and approaches Photoshop in terms of what it can do, but personally I don't find it very inuitive to use (I use Photoshop CS4 usually but that's a pretty old version).

• Personally I tend to use Photoshop Elements. It gives you much of the power of Photoshop but is easier to use and much cheaper. Full fat Photoshop is only essential if you want to prepare pictures for professional, printed publication. Paint Shop Pro isn't bad either. The Gimp is pretty rabidly user hostile ;-)