Garden Bird ID

I am pretty new to bird spotting,  but have been feeding birds in my garden for around a year or so with bird feeders.   for the first time the other night I put apple out, as I figured the wild parakeets would enjoy it.   However,  it brought a new bird into the garden that I have never seen before.  

I have looked at some sites trying to work out what it is,  however,  i can seem to find a fit.  (excuse the mess of the hedge,  I have a hedgehog that sleeps in it so dont want to cut it an disturb it)

Would any of you be able to help identify it, any help would be really appreciated. 

• Profile looks like a goldcrest to me but the colour is slightly off. Darker than I'd expect and it's got a very yellow bib, and that red bit at the back that I can't work out. Shame you can't see the top of its head!
  • thanks for this help so far, I will ask my wife if she has other photos too, but I dont think we got any better than this one. Hopefully it will visit again to night, and we maybe get better photos too. It did have a beautiful song also.
  • I don't know what it is but I wouldn't be surprised if it was an escapee from somewhere.

My Flickr photos

• In reply to Alan.:

Thanks Alan, it may well be, we do have Parakeets here that escaped and now live wild.
  • Whereabouts are you, if you are on Twitter you could ask on there, if not I could post the photo and ask for you.

My Flickr photos

• In reply to Alan.:

My wife has also posted on twitter to see if anyone has any ideas
  • Any suggestions on there yet it may even be a migrant blown off course.

My Flickr photos

• Looks like an escapee - a Pekin Robin

Regards, Hazel 

"Each kindness shown to birds or men is sure to flutter back again" 

• I've done a bit of research and it might be a Red-billed Leiothrix (aka Pekin Robin). It seems that it has been spreading across Europe but if that's what it is I suspect in this case it's more likely to be an escaped captive bird.