Madagascan bird that's not in my book.

Hi, I am not a birder as such but I do like to know what I see.
I saw this in the North of Madagascar, near Russian Bay. The obvious candidate is the Madagascan Bee Eater but all the illustrations I can find show them as green and without the white undersides.
The second picture was taken 100 yards from the first and was what I was expecting to see.
Can't see any reference to significant colour variations so I am puzzled.
Advice please.

• When I first saw the picture my initial reaction was "oooh, an exotic kingfisher", and comparing your two pictures, the 1st one appears to have a much longer bill to head/body ratio than the 2nd, akin to UK Kingfishers. I don't know if there are Madagascan Kingfishers, or other Kingfishers in Madagascar, and I'm certainly no expert, but that's my twopenneth :o)
  • Hi Rob, I think there is a Bee-eater called an "Olive bee-eater" in Madagascar which looks very like your bird, however I'm not an expert on them so wait for other opinions. I think both are Bee-eaters but not 100% sure.

Regards, Hazel 

"Each kindness shown to birds or men is sure to flutter back again" 

• In reply to PimperneBloke:

Yes, kingfisher was pretty high on my list too.

Again there isn't one in my book that looks like that, I got the one below and a really bad picture of a pied but nothing quite like.

• In reply to HAZY:

Hi Hazy,

The book I have has the Olive as another name for the Madagascan, Merops superciliosus.

I think I may be having to buy a better book ;-)