Can anyone tell me what these birds are please?

• Hi Andy
    They are Lapwings

My Flickr photos

• In reply to Alan.:

Many thanks Alan - found them straight away once you told me the name... I'm a complete novice but I'm sure I'll soon get the hang of things and learn to unearth info myself!

• In reply to AndyP-1559802356:

One thing I've learnt Andy is you never stop learning.
    They were called Peewits as I was growing up.

My Flickr photos

• In reply to Alan.:

You're right about the learning Alan - I've recently retired and realised I've spent a lifetime seeing birds and appreciating them without knowing anything about any of them - time to correct it; and a great excuse to get out and about too!

You won't regret getting out and about Andy especially with either a camera or bins, it is surprising how much you will notice.

My Flickr photos

• In reply to Alan.:

Agreed Alan - I've always used bins and I've got a camera now to help keep a record of what I see... It's pretty embarrassing really - I was a soldier for nearly 40 years and saw quite a lot of the world; jungles, deserts, mountains, forests, prairies, arctic etc and never took a camera anywhere! I guess I'll have to revisit some of the places with my eyes focussed differently...

There is another member on here (Hazy/Hazel) that has lived all over the world and like you she wan't into photography at the time.

My Flickr photos

• In reply to Alan.: