Is 25x25mm wire mesh suitable to allow smaller birds such as blue and great tits, maybe even bullfinches to pass through whilst stopping larger starlings?

We would like to create a feeding area in the garden for the smaller birds as they’ve started being mobbed by starlings. Ideally I’d probably like 30x30mm mesh but I can’t find any. Would 25x25 be suitable?

• Sorry no one has replied but the forum is a little quiet the now..... I have no experience with using mesh. I use a feeding pole with hanging feeders and it's only really when I put out suet /fatballs/raw pastry that the starlings and bigger birds take interest...

(Pardon the Scottish Accent)

• You only need to post once as its seen by all regardless what category you post it in...as I said its only because the forum is a little quiet the now or nobody has the answer to your question that you haven't had replies 

(Pardon the Scottish Accent)

• Hi, I have a couple of feeder guardians with mesh 3cm wide and 5cm high. These keep out starlings but let in tits, siskins and goldfinches. I have seen greenfinches, chaffinches and robins squeeze in too although they have to try a little harder. I have not seen a bullfinch go into a feeder guardian.

2.5 x 2.5 sounds a bit small but it may be OK for the smaller birds. I have no experience with a mesh that size.

I don't use the guardians around feeders any more because the local sparrowhawk learned to trap birds inside and catch them that way. But if you are going to have a larger cage-like structure, it's probably OK.

RSPB, CJ Wildlife, etc sell guardian cages to keep out larger birds. They are somewhat expensive and I don't think they are guaranteed to keep out starlings.
  • 25mm x 25mm is a little less than an inch!

However, I've never measured feeders though I have found a link to an RSPB feeder with guard

https://shopping.rspb.org.uk/bird-feeders-boxes-tables/bird-care-accessories/feeder-guardians/rspb-ultimate-bird-feeder-guardian-small.html